Banyana Banyana's training camp will start on Sunday. PIC: SAFA

In The News South Africa Sport

Banyana coach Ellis names squad to prepare for 2018 Cosafa Women’s Championship

JOHANNESBURG, August 1 – Desiree Ellis, coach of the Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana, has announced a squad for a training camp to prepare for the upcoming 2018 Cosafa Women’s Championship, which will be hosted by South Africa starting at the end of August.

Banyana Banyana’s training camp takes place in Johannesburg from August 5-10, and Ellis has kept the bulk of the squad that did duty against Lesotho recently in the Afcon qualifiers.

“Continuity is key, especially at this time of the year. You must also remember that we are heading to a very hectic period for Banyana Banyana. This camp will also help them understand what it is we want from them and also understand their roles,” said Ellis.

“We have brought in 5 new players – Tiisetso Makhubela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Salome Kekana (TUT-PTA), Nomvuyo Bhengu (Durban Ladies), Amanda Mthandi (University of Johannesburg) and Siyamthanda Skeyi (Thunderbirds FC).

“We have also recalled Kholosa Biyana and Sduduzo Dlamini, who were both injured, just to have a look at them again,” said Ellis.

The Cosafa Women’s Championship will be used to get the squad into shape for the 2018 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations, which will take place in Ghana late in November and early in December.

Before the start of the next camp, Ellis will trim down the squad to the required 21 for the tournament, which she says had added pressure, as they are the defending champions.

“In the national team there is always pressure, whether you play in a competition or play a one-off match, the players want to do well, we all want to do well. Playing away is difficult but I think playing at home is even more so because of the pressure,” said Ellis.

Banyana squad:
1 Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns)
2 Yolula Tsawe (JVW FC)
3 Roxanne Barker (Cape Town Roses)
4 Tshidi Muroa (Blue Birds Ladies)
5 Lebohang Ramalepe(Ma-Indies)
6 Koketso Tlailane (TUT-PTA)
7 Nothando Vilakazi (Palace Super Falcon)
8 Thato Letsoso (University of Johannesburg)
9 Regina Mogolola (University of Pretoria)
10 Zanele Nhlapo (Mamelodi Sundowns)
11 Noko Matlou (Ma-Indies)
12 Bambanani Mbane (Bloemfontein Celtic)
13 Astria Boks (Santos FC)
14 Zenhle Chabaku (Bloemfontein Celtic)
15 Nompumelelo Nyandeni (JVW FC)
16 Leandra Smeda (University of Western Cape)
17 Nkoikoi Mabina (Kanatla Ladies)
18 Refiloe Jane (TUT-PTA)
19 Rachel Sebati (TUT-PTA)
20 Noxolo Magudu  (University of Free State)
21 Kholosa Biyana (University of KZN)
22 Thembi Kgatlana (University of Western Cape)
23 Chuene Morifi (Mamelodi Sundowns)
24 Amogelang Motau (University of Western Cape)
25 Gabriela Salgado (JVW FC)
26 Nomvula Kgoale (Louisiana Tech University USA)
27 Jabulile Mazibuko (TUT-PTA)
28 Bontle Mashilo (TUT-PTA)
29 Rhoda Mulaudzi (Mamelodi Sundowns)
30 Lucinda Croy (Santos FC)
31 Nwabisa Kolisi (City Lads Ladies)
32 Chantelle Esau (Mamelodi Sundowns)
33 Letago Madiba (TUT-PTA)
34 Molatelo Sara Kobo (University of Limpopo).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *