Deon Duarte, the SA boxing official, has had a busy time working internationally as a referee or judge Pic: Facebook

In The News South Africa Sport

Boxing SA reveals all its nominees for 2018 awards

JOHANNESBURG, January 11 – Boxing South Africa (BSA) have announced the nominees for 2018 Boxing South Africa Awards.
South Africa’s Minister of Sport Thulas Nxesi said the awards were an important part of national boxing’s landscape.
“Boxing Awards are part of Sport and Recreation South Africa’s commitment to promoting social cohesion and nation building,” said Nxesi.
“It is important that we continue to recognise our sports luminaries for their personal achievements as well as promote them as role models for sport and healthy living.”
The Boxing SA 2017 awards presentation will be held in Port Elizabeth on February 2.
The list of nominees:
Male Boxer of the Year: Zolani Tete, Thulani Mbenge, Azinga Fuzile, Kevin Lerena
Female Boxer of the Year: Prudence Mapule Ngubane, Bukiwe Nonina, Noni Tenge
Male Fight of the Year: Gideon Buthelezi vs Angel Aviles, Mpho Seforo vs Thabang Ramagole, Zolani Tete vs Arthur Villanueva
Female Fight of the Year: Unathi Myekeni vs Asandiswa Nxokwana, Noni Tenge vs Prudence Mapule Ngubane, Simangele Hadebe vs Ellen Simwaka
Male Prospect of the Year: Lunga Stemela, Sikho Nqothole, Ayanda Nkosi
Female Prospect of the Year: Simangele Hadebe, Xoliswa Jonas, Bonita van Jaarsveld
Matchmaker of the Year: Abbey Mnisi, Luyanda Kana, Rueben Rasoli
Media Person of the Year: Christo Smith, Sthembiso Ngqezana, James Gradidge
Female Ring Official of the Year: Sylvia Mokaila, Namhla Tyuluba, Pumeza Zinakile
Male Ring Official of the Year: Ben Ncapai, Deon Dwarte, Lulama Mtya, Allen Matakane
Most Promising Ring Official of the Year: Mandisi Mkile, Clifford Mbhelu, Sipho Ndongeni
Knock-out of the Year: Lebogang Pilane vs Sihle Jelwana, Phila Mpontshane vs Lucky Monyebane, Lerato Dlamini vs Sinethemba Bam
Trainer of the Year: Sean Smith, Colin Nathan, Alan Toweel, Monelisi Myekeni
Promoter of the Year: Lebo Mahoko ((Dream Team Promotions), Ayanda Matiti (Xaba Promotions & Events), Steve Kalakoda (Kalakoda Promotions)
Most Promising Promoter of the Year: Sandile Xaka (Supreme Boxing Promotions)
Meme Dipheko (Team Dida), Shereen Hunter (Unleashed – Combat Sports Events)
Manager of the Year: Sihle Mnguni, Mlandeli Tengimfene, Lucky Ramagole

– African News Agency (ANA),

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *