File Photo: ANA

In The News South Africa

ANC announces new deployees to head parliamentary committees

PARLIAMENT, October 20 – The African National Congress (ANC) on Friday announced it was deploying 10 MPs to serve in senior positions in Parliament following vacancies left by cabinet reshuffles and resignations from Parliament.

The National Assembly (NA) would see five new appointments.

Lungi Mnganga-Gcabashe, who serves on the human settlements portfolio committee, replaces Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba who President Jacob Zuma appointed as deputy public service and administration minister on March 30 this year.

Humfrey Mmemezi, who also served on the portfolio committee on human settlements, was also promoted to chairman of the public works portfolio committee. He replaces Ben Martins, who also became a deputy minister earlier this year.

The post previously held by outspoken Zuma critic, Makhosi Khoza, who resigned from both Parliament and the ANC following a fall-out with party bosses, was also filled.

Cassel Mathale is now chairman of the portfolio committee on Public Service and Administration, Monitoring and Evaluation.

Fezeka Loliwe has been moved to replace Lumka Yengeni as chairwoman of Parliament’s labour portfolio committee. Yengeni is South Africa’s new ambassador designate to Jamaica.

Jabu Mahlangu takes over the post of chair of the portfolio committee on Telecommunications and Postal Services from Mmamaloko Kubayi, who this week was appointed Communications Minister by the President.

Charel De Beer, of the National Council of Provinces (NCOP), is the new chairman of the select committee on appropriations. He replaces Seiso Mohai, who was appointed NCOP chief whip earlier this year.

Motalane Monakedi is set to co-chair the joint standing committee on the financial management of Parliament – a position Mohai also held.

Kgosi Thobejane, who resigned this year to focus on his post as president of the Congress of Traditional Leaders of South Africa, is being replaced by Dumisani Ximbi as chairman of the select committee on petitions and executive undertakings.

Simphiwe Mthimunye replaces Ximbi in his old post of chairman of the select committee on security and justice. Mthimunye’s old post of provincial whip for Mpumalanga will be filled by Moses Mhlanga.
The appointments would become effective after being “duly elected by the respective committees next week”, said ANC chief whip Jackson Mthembu’s office.

In addition to the parliamentary changes, the ruling party has also deployed NCOP Chairwoman Thandi Modise, NA Chairwoman Thoko Didiza and ANC MP Mandla Mandela to the Pan African Parliament “to strengthen South Africa’s representation”.

Modise was set to lead the South African delegation to PAP.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *