Picture Provided : GCIS

In The News South Africa Sport

Baxter makes few changes for Bafana Bafana’s team to face Burkina Faso

Solly Makganoto

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has named his squad to face Burkina Faso in a World Cup qualifier on October 7.

Qarabağ hitman Dino Ndlovu has made a surprising return into Bafana Bafana after having a good start of the season in the Azerbaijani Premier League side and so does Al-Ahly attacker Phakamani Malambi, however Tokelo Rantie who has been inactive for Turkish side Gençlerbirliği did not make the cut through suspension.

Baxter made call-ups to right-backs Reeve Frosler (Bidvest Wits) and Thami Mkhize (Cape Town City), and France-based forward Lebo Mothiba.

Kaizer Chiefs centre-back Erick Mathoho has been included despite his recent domestic ban and the red card he received against Cape Verde being under review by FIFA.

Bafana Bafana’s hopes of competing at Russia 2018 have taken strain with back-to-back defeats to the islanders and FIFA’s order that they must replay the qualifier they won 2-1 against Senegal last year in November.

Baxter’s side are bottom of Group D with a point from three games – four points behind Senegal and five shy of Cape Verde and the Burkinabe, who are challenging FIFA’s replay ruling with CAS.

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune, Wayne Sandilands, Ronwen Williams.

Defenders: Morgan Gould, Erick Mathoho, Reeve Frosler, Thami Mkhize, Sifiso Hlanti, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Tebogo Langerman, Clayton Daniels.

Midfielders: Andile Jali, Hlompho Kekana, Bongani Zungu, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Themba Zwane, Keagan Dolly, Thulani Serero.

Strikers: Phakamani Mahlambi, Lebo Mothiba, Lebogang Manyama, Bradley Grobler, Dino Ndlovu, Percy Tau.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *