Business In The News South Africa

At least 15 of 36 names shortlisted for SABC board interviews

PARLIAMENT, August 22 – MPs on Tuesday unanimously agreed on at least 15 names which will be included on the shortlist of candidates to be interviewed for the new permanent South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) board.

It emerged there were several common names from different political parties represented on Parliament’s portfolio committee on communications.
These include members of the current interim board – Khanyisile Kweyama, Mathatha Tsedu, Krish Naidoo, Febe Potgieter-Gqubule and John Mattison – all of whom the MPs lauded for the amount of work they have been doing to restore credibility to the cash-strapped broadcaster
Parties managed to find common ground on another ten individuals who they deemed should be added to the shortlist:
— Nomvuyo Batyi, supported by the African National Congress (ANC), Democratic Alliance (DA) and smaller parties;
— Rachel Kalidass, supported by the ANC, DA and smaller parties;
— Thabiso Ramotso, supported by the ANC and DA;
— Kharidza Dzudzunga Rufus, supported by the ANC and DA;
— Michael Markovizt, supported by the ANC and DA;
— Willie Currie, supported by the DA and smaller parties;
— Govinsamy Reddy, supported by the DA and smaller parties;
— Deenadaylen Konar, supported by DA and smaller parties;
— Harriet Meier suppported by the DA and smaller parties; and
— Dawn Earp supported by the ANC and DA

MPs are Tuesday expected to begin the arduous task of shortlisting 36 candidates to be interviewed for board positions available for the cash-strapped South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC).
Parliament’s portfolio committee on Communications received 363 applications for the 12 positions available on the board. 
A five member interim board is currently overseeing the public broadcaser after the previous board was dissolved following a parliamentary inquiry which found serious governance problems and financial mismanagement, among others.
“We’ll decide Tuesday. Surely the political parties will come with their preferences then we’ll deal with that at the end and we’ll emerge with 36 names,” said Humphrey Maxegwana, committee chairman. 
“The preferences will be informed by the weight of the quality of each candidate, their relevance to the jobs that were advertised, and various other criteria.”
The committee’s meeting has been set down for 10 hours. 
Last week, the committee agreed the names of the 36 successful candidates would be published on the parliamentary website. Civil society organisations and individuals would have five working days to comment.
The candidates would not only be subjected to rigorous interviews, their background information and qualifications would be probed.
“As we agree on the 36, they will go through a number of processes, including qualifications, vetting and all that while we are interviewing them,” Maxegwana said.
In 2014, former SABC board chairwoman Ellen Tshabalala resigned after it emerged she had lied about her academic qualifications.
MPs say they are serious about bringing stability to the SABC by having a permanent board in place to restore the integrity, financial position and public confidence in the broadcaster.
Several SABC boards have not served their full terms following in-fighting, an environment of impunity, and allegations of political interference.
– African News Agency (ANA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *