In The News South Africa

18 arrested, firearms, drugs, stolen property recovered in ‘high density disruptive operation’ by NCape cops

KURUMAN, July 16 – A police crime Intelligence-led high density disruptive operation in the John Taolo Gaetsewe policing cluster proved successful when 18 suspects were arrested, and various illegal firearms, drugs, and stolen property recovered, Northern Cape police said on Sunday.

“The suspects were arrested for offences ranging from possession and dealing in drugs, to possession of suspected stolen property, arson, possession of copper wires, drunken driving, assault with intent to do grievous bodily harm, malicious damage to property,” Brigadier Mohale Ramatseba said.

Drugs with a street value of R380,000 were seized in Wrenchville, Bankhara, and Seven Miles. Dagga at Seven Miles was “dug from the suspect`s yard, courtesy of police sniffer dogs”. Six illegal firearms and ammunition were also recovered during the operation.

The operation started on July 13 and included officers of the provincial visible police unit, flying squad, air wing, crime intelligence, traffic, tactical response team, public order police, K9 unit, corporate communication and marketing, criminal records and  crime scene  management, and neighbourhood watch members from Kuruman, Mothibistad, Bathlaros, and Kathu, he said.

The focus of the operation was on trio crimes, wanted suspects, drug dealers, transportation of stolen goods, drunken driving, and lawlessness in the cluster. Patrols, stop and searches, road blocks, high police visibility, and monitoring of liquor outlets were conducted with aerial support by a police helicopter.

Most of the licensed liquor outlets complied with the legal closing times, except for one at Kagung village, which was closed down after 2am on Sunday morning and issued with a non-compliance fine of R3000, Ramatseba said.

Northern Cape police commissioner Lt-Gen Risimati Peter Shivuri commended the officers for a job well done. He warned that similar operations would be held in the Pixley Ka Seme cluster (De Aar); Namakwa cluster (Springbok); ZF Mcgawu cluster (Upington), and Francis Baard cluster (Kimberley).

– African News Agency (ANA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *