In The News South Africa

New ANC MPs sworn in

PARLIAMENT – Six new ANC MPs were sworn in on Thursday morning to fill the seats vacated when former ministers and deputy ministers resigned in the wake of the March Cabinet reshuffle.

The new ruling party MPs are Lerato Theko, Terence Mpaza, Simanga Mbuyana, Joseph Office, Rachel Adams and Theophilus Nkozo, Parliament said.

Former transport minister Dipuo Peters, former energy minister Tina Joemat-Pettersson, former public service and administration minister Ngoako Ramatlhodi, former deputy finance minister Mcebisi Jonas and former deputy arts minister Joyce Mabudafhasi quit in recent weeks after losing their portfolios.

There had also been a long-standing vacancy in the ANC benches.

The former ministers who quit were criticised for doing so by African National Congress secretary-general Gwede Mantashe.

He accused them of resigning to hold onto their ministerial pension benefits but others have hinted that some left to escape having to vote in a motion of no confidence in President Jacob Zuma that has been tabled by the opposition.

– African News Agency (ANA)

Weekly Xposé
WeeklyXposé is an online newspaper with a mission to bring you stories that mainstream media would hesitate to bring to your screens over morning coffee. We highlight key issues plaguing our country and the world, while serving the best of entertainment and motoring news. Every week we will bring you an Xposé, something you won't find anywhere else. Keep watching this space and coming back for more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *