In The News South Africa

Investigate North West municipalities – Cosatu

JOHANNESBURG – The Congress of South African Trade Unions (Cosatu) in North West on Wednesday called on the provincial government to investigate the municipalities who have failed to pay their Eskom electricity bills.

Eskom interrupted its bulk electricity supply to the North West municipalities of Naledi, Lekwa-Teemane and Kgetlengrivier, affecting the towns of Vryburg, Stella, Bloemhof, Christiana, Koster and Swartruggens.

The power utility has embarked on a national drive to collect all municipal outstanding debt which runs into more than R10 billion across the country.

In a statement, Cosatu’s North West provincial secretary, Job Dliso, condemned all municipalities that have failed to pay their Eskom electricity bills, saying that decisive action must be taken against those responsible.

“The federation will await the outcome of investigations and if nothing is done, we will mobilise our members and march against those municipalities,” Dliso said.

Eskom would cut the power supply to the affected municipalities from 06h00 – 08h00 and 17h00 – 19h30 (Monday to Friday) and 08h30 – 11h00 and 15h00 – 17h30 (Saturday and Sunday) until payment is received or a payment arrangement is agreed to.

– African News Agency (ANA)

Weekly Xposé
WeeklyXposé is an online newspaper with a mission to bring you stories that mainstream media would hesitate to bring to your screens over morning coffee. We highlight key issues plaguing our country and the world, while serving the best of entertainment and motoring news. Every week we will bring you an Xposé, something you won't find anywhere else. Keep watching this space and coming back for more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *